[HD038] jdn – Night EP


Returning to the folds is Harmonious Discord founder and longtime contributor JD Northrup with a next generation sound-scape inherent of the preparation and diligence put fourth in his resurgence back into the electronic music landscape. JD has been featured previously on Harmonious Discord under the moniker Chakaharta providing a legacy of great releases that blended modern electronics with natural rhythms and synthetic elements. Releases like “Cactus Girl” and his album “The Plant” were monumental additions to the HD catalog. The jdn project encompasses the same balance of synthetic and environmental elements but with an enhanced concentration on hardware based workflow. The entire EP was constructed in the box with various synthesizers and drum machines dancing with each other in perfect synchronicity.

Harmonious Discord 038 jdn – Night EP
1. Aelian Intro
2. C5
3. C5 (Patchen’s Yellow Fever Mix)
4. Night Groove
5. Night Groove (Bluetech Remix)
6. D13
7. Talk is cheap

The EP spans many moods with a common thread of psychedelic ingenuity and technical precision. We grow from a very subdued intro to floor destroyers like “Talk is Cheap”. In the same nostalgic vein we invited HD contributor and artists Patchen Preston to offer up a chunky rendition of the tune C5. Lastly, we are excited to collab with one of our favorite musicians in the industry and one of the most versatile sonic magicians we know, Evan Marc aka Bluetech. Bluetech takes his remix “Night Groove” to the stratosphere and back with floating arpeggiations and bouncing percussion. The “Night EP” offers a little bit for everyone, from the subdued to the overt a plan for world domination.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll Up