Harmonious Discord x Thoughtless x SXSW x Renegade Showcase



Harmonious Discord and Thoughtless Music present

An UN-Official SXSW Showcase

Sunday March 16th

12pm-8pm CST

$10 Entry, No Wristband or Badge Required

Danielle Nicole (Thoughtless, Little Helpers, Fantastic Friends) NYC

Henry Chow (Thoughtless, Harmonious Discord)

PointBender (Thoughtless, Harmonious Discord)

Molecule (Harmonious Discord, ISHI)

Yanni Ehm (Hemiptera)

Onium (Harmonious Discord)

Vegenaut (Harmonious Discord)

$10 @ Loft718


[HD038] jdn – Night EP


Returning to the folds is Harmonious Discord founder and longtime contributor JD Northrup with a next generation sound-scape inherent of the preparation and diligence put fourth in his resurgence back into the electronic music landscape. JD has been featured previously on Harmonious Discord under the moniker Chakaharta providing a legacy of great releases that blended modern electronics with natural rhythms and synthetic elements. Releases like “Cactus Girl” and his album “The Plant” were monumental additions to the HD catalog. The jdn project encompasses the same balance of synthetic and environmental elements but with an enhanced concentration on hardware based workflow. The entire EP was constructed in the box with various synthesizers and drum machines dancing with each other in perfect synchronicity.

Harmonious Discord 038 jdn – Night EP
1. Aelian Intro
2. C5
3. C5 (Patchen’s Yellow Fever Mix)
4. Night Groove
5. Night Groove (Bluetech Remix)
6. D13
7. Talk is cheap

The EP spans many moods with a common thread of psychedelic ingenuity and technical precision. We grow from a very subdued intro to floor destroyers like “Talk is Cheap”. In the same nostalgic vein we invited HD contributor and artists Patchen Preston to offer up a chunky rendition of the tune C5. Lastly, we are excited to collab with one of our favorite musicians in the industry and one of the most versatile sonic magicians we know, Evan Marc aka Bluetech. Bluetech takes his remix “Night Groove” to the stratosphere and back with floating arpeggiations and bouncing percussion. The “Night EP” offers a little bit for everyone, from the subdued to the overt a plan for world domination.

[HD037] Discordian Dreaming 7


As Harmonious Discord sets the stage for it’s sonic deliverables in 2014 we are happy to give you a glimpse into artists we see as steering the direction of the label over the next 12 months.  Often underground and under-radar the Discordian Dreaming series aims to showcase some of the finest talent in the landscape and provide a dream-esk atmosphere that blurs the lines of genre classification.  Returning to the label are skilled musicians Ivan Dbri, Vital, Ill76, PointBender and Christian Barbuto providing the listener with a new chapter in artist evolution.  In addition we welcome new artists Wonder Nexus, Onium, Adam Pickrell, and Black Beanz to the HD collection furthering our commitment to quality underground oddities.  Expect much more from this group of dreamers as Harmonious Discord gears up for a major 2014.

HD037 Discordian Dreaming 7

1. Wondernexus – Peregrin

2. Onium – Coma State

3. Ill76 – Scientific Dictatorship

4. Adam Pickrell featuring Daniel Hardaway – Reach Suite

5. Ivan Dbri – Diving into you

6. Vital – How it All Began

7. Black Beanz – Something

8. Christian Barbuto and Daelo – Robo

9. Jerry Riggs and PointBender – Motherboard Bounce


[HD036] Harmonious Discord 036 Cosmic JD and Dick Diamonds – Tropicaux



Still in the fall air is the burning range of colors and temperatures.  Offering up a warm reception to the pending winter come Canadian artists Cosmic JD and Daniel [Dick] Diamonds.  Joining us from the frosted north comes Deep North boss-man and 530 Techno/Bad Animal artist Dick Diamonds who sometimes moonlights under his various projects as Hermans and Jerry Riggs.  Daniel teams up with Cosmic JD from the stunningly otherwordly group Elextra.  We have been big fans of both Elextra’s and Daniel output and please to welcome them to the label.  The focus on instrumentation and experimentation executed with supreme dancability offered in Tropicaux has an energy all its own.

Harmonious Discord 036 Cosmic JD and Dick Diamonds – Tropicaux

1. Tropicaux Feat. Botsi

2. Bronco Perdido

The first collaboration with singer Botsi offers a disco tinged dance workout.  Pervasive percussion dances around floating pad swells as vocal hums lift the levels around a quickly building synthesizer story.  Occasional breaks into broken beat inspired verses keep the neurons firing; a cerebral journey into synthesizer music.  Bronco Perdido flowers from a different depth as subdued pads and tones bellow through echo chambers.  Bass litters a dubby percussive cadence driven conversation between electronic pepperings and low passed atmospheres.  Driven even further under the depths with legacy drum machine sequences we tune into a dialog of a lost soul.